IIT-KGP Alumni honored by USA National Academy of Engineering

IIT-KGP Alumni honored by USA National Academy of Engineering

OMAHA, NE - 03/22/2018 — The prestigious National Academy of Engineering, USA, has elected three alumni of IIT Kharagpur among its elite members leading the domains of education and research in USA and the world. 

Professor Lallit Anand (Warren and Towneley Rohsenow Professor of Mechanical Engineering, MIT), Professor Amit Goyal [SUNY Empire Innovation Professor and Director of the interdisciplinary RENEW Institute at the University at Buffalo (SUNY-Buffalo)] and Mr Sushil Kumar Soonee (adviser and former CEO, POSOCO, Power System Operation Corporation, India) are the newest members of NAE.

Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer internationally and takes into account a lifetime of accomplishments in the field of science. NAE membership comes only to those individuals who have been trailblazers in scientific discovery, methods and applications, who have used their talent to mentor students, faculty or their workforce and have contributed immensely to making engineering count for creating a healthy future.

All three IIT alumni to have made it to the NAE are trailblazers in their own right.

Dr Lallit Anand, a BTech in Mechanical Engineering from IIT Kharagpur in 1970, has a highly distinguished record of research accomplishments in Continuum Mechanics and Materials Science. His work brings systematic theory, experiment and computation together for modelling the large inelastic deformation of a wide variety of engineering materials. Dr Anand was awarded the NAE membership for his contributions to the development of plasticity for engineering technology. 

Dr Amit Goyal is an internationally recognized materials scientist, teacher and prolific innovator. He obtained his BTech in Metallurgical Engineering from IIT Kharagpur in 1986. His work has provided the creative stimulus for the development of high temperature superconductors. He is also widely regarded as a leader world-wide in the field of nanomaterials. The NAE has awarded him membership for his contribution to materials science advances and for enabling commercialization of high-temperature superconducting materials.

Mr Soonee is a BTech in Electrical Engineering from IIT Kharagpur’s class of 1977. He has steered the power system operation of the pan-India grid as the CEO of POSOCO, a subsidiary of the Power Grid Corporation of India Limited. He has worked extensively for the integration of state grids and has been closely associated with the drafting of the Indian Electricity Grid Code (IEGC), implementation of the Availability Based Tariff (ABT) mechanism and the introduction of Open Access in India. The NAE award recognizes his role in the development of operational methods that enabled the interconnection of India’s electric power grid.

In other achievements, Dr Sudipta Seal (Pegasus Professor, UCF Distinguished Professor and Chair, Materials Science and Engineering, University of Central Florida) is among the latest academicians to join World Academy of Ceramics. Dr Seal will be awarded the WAC diploma during the 14th International Ceramics Congress in Italy on June 5, 2018.

Dr Sudipta Seal’s accomplishment as member of WAC is as worthy. Like NAE, WAC is an exclusive club of professionals. It is based in Italy, honours and unites internationally renowned scientists, engineers, and artists working in the ceramic field. Dr Seal is a BTech in Metallurgical Engineering from IIT Kharagpur (1986). His research has developed surface engineered nanoscale transition metal and rare earth oxide ceramics for catalysis, energetics and nano-biomedicine. He has developed scalable methods for template free nano oxide particles and engineered nanoceria (3-5 nm) with switchable valence states with regeneration capability. 

Additionally, Prof. Kaushik Sengupta (Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering at Princeton University) has been named the 2017 winner of the Bell Labs Prize. The Bell Labs Prize recognizes important contributions to modern communication systems. Prof. Sengupta was awarded for his invention of a radical new transreceiver chip technology that could power a truly universal software-defined reconfigurable radio. This invention has significant application possibilities both in domains of wireless communication and sensing, both of which will collectively enable the future of co-existence with ‘intelligent’ things. Particularly, the next generation of cellular communication, popularly known as 5G, is expected to exploit these new frequency regimes called millimeter-waves in the 28 GHz range and beyond. This will allow a 10-100x increase in data rates and similar reductions in latency to allow augmented and virtual reality applications. Prof. Sengupta received his Dual Degree in Electronics and Electrical Communications Engineering from IIT Kharagpur in 2007 and Ph.D. from Caltech, Pasadena, USA in 2012. 

Dr Partha Pratim Chakrabarti, director, IIT Kharagpur said, “We are extremely proud of the achievement of our alumni. This is a richly deserved honour for all of them who have been path-breakers in their individual fields of research and professional enterprise. Their achievement will remain an inspiration to the students of IIT Kharagpur and its faculty, and will serve as our guiding light." 

Media Contacts:

Company Name: IITKGP Foundation
Full Name: Erin L. Moran
Email Address: Send Email
Website: https://www.iitkgpfoundation.org/